Just Desserts…are never Just Desserts

When the boys were growing up, there were times when eating was just something you did…just like breathing and going to practices and games.  We had all three boys playing baseball, soccer and hockey, while Blake dabbled in Basketball and Drew gave it a go with Tae Kwan Do and LaCrosse.  (Actually he did quite well with TKD)  And then you had multiple sports at the same time as multiple teams (high school and club teams) and multiple children at the same time.  So at it was almost, almost I said, an inconvenience to eat.

Those days are gone.  Eating is a ritual.  An experience.  An art.  Time is spent deciding on a recipe(s), obtaining the ingredients (we have more damn spices and condiments than Emeril) and then preparing.  Sometimes as I am eating I actually wonder if it is worth it…until someone says, hey this is really good…or this is good enough for company…or I’m gonna get more.  Then I know it is worth it.

With this in mind, it is why I hardly ever, dare I say never if ever, eat dessert.  Why?  Because Diana makes the absolute best desserts I have ever had.  When I was young, I thought my mother and my Nana made the best.  I also thought my mother in law, Jackie made an awesome pie (and she did).  But my bride out does all of them and any restaurant I have ever graced.  Which is why I do not order dessert.

Of corse I have my favs…we all do.   And today I will talk about one of them.  One she recently made, and one I love to hate.  Why?  Because it is so good and it is so hard to pass up and it is soooo high in calories!!!!  But, I’ll eat it every time, because…it is so good ( I know i said that twice). (Now let me pause here to say that when Diana makes a dessert, she makes it with lots and lots of love…that is the main ingredient of any dessert. She also makes more than is needed.  When we were first married, she made, just for the two of us, enough gingerbread to feed an entire zip code.  It’s just what she does. and does it very well)

This particular dessert is perfect for the summer…the combination of flavors…the coolness…everything about it screams of a perfect summer dessert.   So without delay, I present the best Tropical Banana Split you will ever taste…at least a damn good one.   WARNING:  Be careful when serving this dessert.  There are so many great flavors and ingredients that if you do not go lightly on the portions of each, for an individual serving, it can become a whole lotta food!

(I am not sure where Diana got this recipe, if I knew, I would give credit to the source.)

BANANA SPLIT WITH CURRIED CHOCOLATE COCONUT SAUCE DESSERT

Serves 4 (or more…emphasis on more)

6 oz. bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped

2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) unsalted butter

¼ cup canned sweetened cream of coconut (such as Coco Lopez)

2 tablespoons dark rum

2 teaspoons curry powder

1 teaspoon finely grated lime peel

¾ cup chilled whipping cream

1 tablespoon powdered sugar

4 bananas, peeled, halved lengthwise

1 quart vanilla ice cream

1 cup 1/3-to-1/2 inch cubes peeled, cored pineapple

Sweetened flaked coconut, toasted

Stir chocolate and butter in medium saucepan over low heat until smooth. Whisk in next 4 ingredients. (Can be made 1 day ahead. Cover and chill.) Stir sauce over low heat until just warm.

Beat cream and powdered sugar in medium bowl to peaks; chill until ready to use. Arrange 2 banana halves in each of 4 long shallow dishes. (or just use just one half of a banana per serving) Add 2-3 scoops ice cream to each dish. Spoon warm sauce over ice cream. Top with pineapple, whipped cream and toasted coconut.

ENJOY!  (I think it would be perfect to enjoy with a fine “sipping rum”)

(SECOND WARNING:  You will need to engage in some kind of physical activity to work off the millions of calories you intake, but it will be worth it.  If not, let me know and I will eat your serving!!!)

Published in: on June 30, 2010 at 8:25 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jschaef.wordpress.com/2010/06/30/just-desserts-are-never-just-desserts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. This is great, what a wonderful treat…but I struggled to finish it!

    Like


Leave a Reply

