“Put the Lime in the…Gin, or Coconut But Not Aftershave, Please.

I think the first time I remember ever smelling “lime” was back in the ’60s.  I think mid ’60s was truly the beginning of the “Metro-Sexual” revolution for men…we were just too dumb (or macho) to realize this at the time.  Most of the country was caught up in assassinations, protests, civil rights,Viet Nam and Woodstock.  But behind the scenes, companies were starting to creep into the grooming habits of males.  Old standards in the cologne arena (Old Spice, Aqua Velva) started to receive competition from the rookies such as English Leather, Hai Karate, Brut and Jade East.  And that snowball began to roll downhill very fast.  One of the resulting products was, I hate to admit I remember all of this crap, English Leather Lime. This was in direct response to some of the rookies that also started to use Lime as a fragrance.

Anyway…this was my introduction to “Lime”.  Maybe not the best.  Or the way I would have liked to script it…but life seldom is that way.  And now you know why I used “–” in the first paragraph when I mentioned smelling “lime”.  It was faux lime.  Or nasty lime.  Or any kind of lime other than what you would want in your drink.  But keep in mind the times, and remember “Pigs don’t know pigs stink!”

Nowadays I prefer the smell of fresh limes.  Diana even bought a lime tree the other day. (surprise! Diana bought a plant!  Wow, who would have thought that. Love you, babe.)  We go through those big bags of limes we get at Sam’s like Cub’s fans go through years without a championship.  They are great in all kinds of drinks, recipes for entrees, desserts, salsa, guacamole…just to name a few.

So here is a drink that I concocted one summer afternoon when I wanted limes, but not sure what else.  I knew I wanted something refreshing, “summery”, and using fresh ingredients…something a little different.  I think I got it.  Although, as always, you may want to tweak it to your liking.  In honor of one of Baseball’s pioneers, and a one time member of the Cardinals, I present the…

Juniper Branch Rickey

  • 1 oz rosemary simple syrup (just add fresh rosemary when you are making simple syrup.  let cool, refrigerate.  good for a couple of weeks.)
  • 1.5 oz fresh lime juice
  • 2.5 oz Gin…I have found that Hendricks Gin works great in this drink.  Although I have tried others and they work also.
  • Mix these three well in a shaker, pour over ice in a tall glass
  • Top off with a splash of club soda, add cucumber slice, lime or rosemary sprig  for garnish if you wish.

If you recall, I recently spoke about Watermelon, Basil and Limes.  And I have offered up for your enjoyment, or derring-do, a couple of recipes with Limes and Watermelon.  So that Basil does not feel like the step-child of the three, here is a recipe that includes basil and watermelon.  It was one of those that I stumbled across…found unexpectedly in a magazine that I have found several recipes that are pretty simple and very good.  It is not a cooking, baking or recipe magazine.  I ran across this in Men’s Health or Men’s Fitness, one or the other.  I kinda get them mixed up.  Anyway, it is simple, quick, refreshing and has a surprising flavor that I think most people will enjoy.  The only problem is that it did not have a name…so I gave it one.

Watermelon and Basil Salad (catchy name, eh?)

  • 1/3 cup of olive oil
  • 1/3 cup loosely packed basil leaves
  • Heat the olive oil in a small pan at Medium setting.  When heated well, add the basil leaves
  • After about ten seconds quickly transfer the olive oil and the basil into a food processor and blend until you have a “dressing”.
  • Arrange slices (or pieces, slices just look better for presentation, if anyone cares) on a plate and pour/spoon some of the dressing on top of the watermelon
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Enjoy…if you want more dressing, just make sure the amount of olive oil is equal to the amount of basil leaves.

See, told you it was easy.  Almost too easy if there is such a thing…but there isn’t.

So morale of the story:  While the “lime in the coconut” makes for a catchy little ditty, lime in aftershave makes for something that smells kinda “shi**y”.

Save the limes for your drinks…gin, rum, tequila…and others.  But, remember if you do “put the lime in the coconut …”

Put the lime in the coconut, you drink ’em both together
Put the lime in the coconut, then you feel better
Put the lime in the coconut, drink ’em both up
Put the lime in the coconut, and call me in the mo-o-ornin

(Click the “Coconut” below)

Coconut

Published in: on August 4, 2010 at 5:15 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jschaef.wordpress.com/2010/08/04/put-the-lime-in-the-gin-or-coconut-but-not-aftershave-please/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

