Don’t Get Buffaloed into a Stressfull Holiday Season; Relax…Cheers!

For whatever reason, I have always been fascinated, or had an interest in the buffalo.  I have read books about them. Enjoyed movies with them in it.  I even have a bison skull on my porch and a jawbone in a bookcase. ( okay, I am not really morbid, it is just that they were used as a weapon/club by the Native American Indians, and if you have been to our house, you might understand.  No, we do not live in a teepee.)  I even liked the song from the 60’s by Roger Miller…”You Can’t Roller Skate in a Buffalo Herd”.  ( I know, I am really pushing it now )

Indian head nickels, with the buffalo on the “tails” side, I have always had an affinity for also.  Not sure what it is.  Maybe it is the cowboy in me…?  Or perhaps it is because my great-great-grandmother…or so I am told…was a direct descendant from native American Indians, an actual Indian herself.  (do not ask what tribe…just let it be).  Or perhaps because my dad and I used to watch westerns when I was young…hell, I still enjoyed them.

But for whatever reason there is, when I saw Buffalo Trace bourbon at Lukas Liquors, I knew I had to try it.  And I am glad I did.  Again, it must have been the “Buff” thing.  Because if you think about it, Buffalo Trace to the layman might mean simply the trace of a buffalo, or simply put…Buffalo shit.  So I was hoping that I would not have that taste in my mouth…and I did not.  Actually it has become my “go-to” bourbon when I am making drinks.  It is very good and if you try it, you will not be disappointed.

So in honor of the American Bison, Buffalo for y’all, I present the Tatonka!

If you recall the movie “Dances With Wolves”, which really was a cool movie, you may remember the scene where Kevin Costner (Who hasn’t been as cool lately as he was in this movie or in Field of Dreams) tries to explain to his new “neighbors”, the Indians, about the Buffalo.  He gets on his knees, all fours actually, and puts a bundle under his shirt on his back and makes the “horns” with his fingers.  The  Indians are wary and suspicious but take the time to understand what this white man is trying to say when they realize he is referring to “Tatonka”.  That is the beginning of a wonderful relationship between Costner ( Dunbar ) and the Indians.

So you may be wary of  this drink.  Suspicious, in fact. Hell, it may simply sound terrible to you.  But I can attest to the fact that it is not…terrible.  Nor does it taste like Buffalo crap.  It does have a “seasonal” flavor to it that could easily be made into a “punch drink”.

The Tatonka

  1. 2 cups apple cider
  2. 1/4 cup brown sugar
  3. a piece of fresh ginger, one inch long, peeled and thinly sliced
  4. 5 allspice berries, cracked
  5. 4-5 whole cloves
  6. 4 black peppercorns

Combine the above in a sauce pan. Simmer over a low heat for 15 minutes.  Remove from heat and let steep for about an hour or so.

Take 1.5 ounces of Buffalo Trace bourbon and 1.5 ounces of the cider/syrup and mix together in an ice filled rocks glass.  Top off the drink with some ginger ale and a squeeze of lime, and you now have…Tatonka.

A nice refreshing drink that brings along some of the great flavors of winter and fall with it.  And of course like all things I post…you can adjust to your taste and liking.

This week-end, after you have shopped and fought the Christmas crowds, be sure to take some time for yourself.  You can pour yourself a Tatonka, or some wine, perhaps even some cider or tea will help you relax.  But be sure to relax.  Keep in mind what the Christmas Season is about.  While it might mean different things to different people, it does not mean you are supposed to drive yourself crazy to the point of being stressed out and unable to enjoy yourself and your life.  Yeah, it is easier said than done.  But if I don’t say it, it may not get done.

To my friends, family and those that stumble upon this…Cheers.  Now relax…

Published in: on December 18, 2010 at 10:43 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jschaef.wordpress.com/2010/12/18/dont-get-buffaloed-into-a-stressfull-holiday-season-relax-cheers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Don't Get Buffaloed into a Stressfull Holiday Season; Relax…Cheers … the attachments to this post: […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

