If Heaven Were Closer…

I make no apologies.  I like Country Western music.  Sure, my iPod has many different types of music on it (U2, Springsteen, Black Keys, Kings of Leon, John Legend, Miles Davis, Andrea Bocelli, Chris Botti, and blah, blah, blah).  But if I turn on the radio, for music, chances are it is to listen to Country Western music.

I am not sure where it all began.  Whom to blame?  Perhaps it was the Allman Brothers that got it started?  Marshall Tucker was definitely an influence, as was Lynyrd SkynyrdOutlaws, Pure Prairie League, Molly Hatchet all seemed to morph into Willie and Waylon and the boys.  Next thing you knew I was singing Folsom Prison Blues, by Johnny Cash,  humming along with Merle Haggard’s Okie from Muskogee and listening to The Notorious Cherry Bomb’s hit song, It’s Hard to Kiss the Lips At Night That Chew Your Ass Out All Day Long” (Oh yes, it is a real song!).  And today it is Tim, Keith, Trace, Rascal Flatts, Lady Antebellum, Zac Brown, etc…

People sometimes ask, why do you like country music?

I am not sure why.  I guess it is like getting a tattoo.  Or enjoying a cigar.  If you have to ask why I like it, well then I don’t think I can explain it to you.

I heard a CW song the other day on the radio.  I didn’t recognize it, it is by one of Music Row’s young guns.  Justin Moore.  Not really familiar with much of his stuff, but this song caught my attention…and made me think.  The song, If Heaven Wasn’t So Far Away, speaks to memories being triggered by everyday occurrences.  Memories of those we love and have passed.  And it speaks to what he would do, and with whom, if he could visit Heaven.  Just visit.  For a day, and hour, a moment.

So I got to thinkin’, what would I do if Heaven were closer and I could stop by for a brief visit…

If Heaven Were Closer, I would…

  • Tell MLK and Abe Lincoln, “Thank you”.
  • Play catch with my Dad.

  • Go fishing with Diana’s Dad.

  • Just sit and listen to my Grandfather, PaPa, tell stories about how it used to be and the way he did things.  I would also ask him for the recipe to the famous bar-b-cue sauce he use to make that no one in the family can find anymore.

  • Go on a horseback ride with John Wayne.
  •  Tell Elvis and Marilyn to get real help from a real doctor.
  • Introduce myself to my Dad’s father, Arthur, because I never met him, then thank both he and my Grandma Schaefering for raising such a fine man, my Dad.

  • Ask Johnny Cash to read me one of my favorite Bible passages, because I imagine his voice to sound the most like the “voice of God”.
  • Tell every United States serviceman and woman, “thank you for serving and for your sacrifice”.

  • Tell my Grandma, NaNa, I was hungry…because I know should would make me a “dollar” sandwich.

  • Ask Lee Harvey Oswald and Jack Ruby…”Why?”
  • Ask Irma (Diana’s Grandma) “How am I doing?”
  • Ride a motorcycle with Steve McQueen.
  • Sing “Me and Bobby McGee” with Janis Joplin and ask Marvin Gaye “What’s Going On?”
  • Ask Diana’s Mom to bake me a pie…then compliment her, again.

  • Pet and play awhile with all of my dogs…Greta, Misty, Chelsea, Butkus and Beau.

  • Tell Diana’s parents how much I love the beautiful strong woman they raised as their daughter and thank them for doing so.

  • Have a drink with Humphrey Bogart, Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra.
  • Invite Ulysses S Grant and Robert E Lee to sit down to a meal.
  • Smoke a cigar with my Dad, Winston Churchill, JFK, Mark Twain, George Burns, Babe Ruth and Al Capone…and just talk about whatever comes to mind.

Okay, I know this is a bit of a frivolous list…at least on some levels.  But they are all simple things…eating, sharing, living, enjoying life…things that are sometimes taken for granted.

I hope we all take advantage of the simple things today…eating, sharing, living, enjoying life.

I recently read that “it is impossible to love your parents as much as you love your own children.”

I do not remember where I read it or who said it.  I am not even sure I agree with it…but I understand it.  And I imagine that most of you who have children understand what the “author” of that statement is trying to say.

If that statement is extrapolated, it would include Grandparents and Grandchildren also.

Let’s spend time with our loved ones, do the things we would like to do.  Live the life we are meant to live.  Find time for others.

You don’t want to finish the sentence above but adding…until it is too late to show them.

So for everyone, if there is something you want to say to someone or ask them,  follow Nike’s advice and Just Do It (now).

Don’t wait for Heaven to get a little closer.

I think that may be why I like CW music.

Published in: on May 2, 2011 at 6:46 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jschaef.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/if-heaven-were-closer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Such a good post Pop

    Like

  2. Thanks “T”

    Like


Leave a Reply

