They’re Everywhere, They’re Everywhere…Just Open Your Eyes

In the daily routine that I have established (assuming I am at home and not travelling for work) I have developed a bit of a routine.  It consists of exercise, coffee, caring for the dogs, reading the newspaper (yes, some of us still read that rolled up tablet thrown on the lawn…the old fashioned way) and laughing.  Those last two, reading the newspaper and laughing, actually are related.  No, that doesn’t mean anything political, nor how the stock market is fairing, and it has nothing to do with the Chicago Cubs.  It has everything to do with the “funnies”, “comics” or whatever you want to call them.  Those little “strips” of laughter that make fun of our lives…politics…family…religion…work…and growing up, old, and out.  It chronicles our lives and times, even if it doesn’t follow our life and time directly.  It is one of the great ways to start off my day…

Laughing.

Sometimes I am laughing (okay many times) at myself.  I see myself in Beetle Bailey, Blondie, Family Circus, Zits, Chickweed Lane, Mother Goose and Grimm, Mallard Fillmore, Mutts and even in Garfield!

And I laugh each time I do!

Rick Kirkman and Jeremy Scott have a comic strip called Baby Blues.  This one is usually a sure-fire-laugh for me.  It tackles family life with all of the challenges that you can imagine…and few you try to forget.  But it usually rates about an 8-10 on the laugh-out-loud-o meter, for me anyway.

They recently had one on Superheroes.  And it got me to recall my own childhood.  All of the “superheroes I used to dress up as in my childhood.  (yes, childhood, I do not dress up…as Superheroes anymore) I would watch the old Superman television shows with George ReevesLook, up in the sky, it’s a bird, it’s a plane, it’s Superman!  Great Caesars Ghost!  Mom let me take an old towel, and I used a marker to make the big “S” on it.  Then I would use a safety pin to pin it around my neck and “tuck” it into the back of my shirt.  This way, I didn’t need a phone booth to go into to “change” from Clark Kent into Superman.  I would just “whip it out”…and I was Superman…whip out the cape/towel, that is.

It was fun.  But then Superheroes started to become complicated.  The next television series that I recal was Batman ( BAM, OOF, POW, ZOWIE)  That featured all kinds of characters for a child’s fantasy…(did anyone say Catwoman?)  But the challenges came along with that.  As easy as it was to have a makeshift cape tucked into the back of your shirt, it was that difficult to make the cowl/mask that Batman had.  And while he had great toys (Batmobile, Bat-a-rang, and that great belt that held them all), it wasn’t easy to re-create those gadgets.  But compared to what Peter Parker brought as Spiderman in the cartoon on Saturday mornings, perhaps it was more doable than trying to have a web come out from your wrist…

But we still played.  Somehow, we made up a lot using our imagination and a stick, Lincoln Logs, or whatever we could find.

In recent years, there has been a resurgence of Superheroes on film. Joining The Man of Steel, Dark Knight and Spidey are Iron Man, Fantastic Four, the Hulk, X-Men, the Crow, Thor, the Green Hornet with more to come (Captain America, for one)  I must admit, some of these I have liked, some I haven’t seen and some I probably won’t see.  One that I was intrigue with, although I haven’t seen, is The Green Hornet.  Part of the intrigue came from that, as a child, I do not recall seeing the television series…although I believe it was fairly short-lived.  However some of the intrigue has also stemmed from the lead role of The Green Hornet…played by Seth Rogen.  This didn’t seem to fit the “Superhero” mold, at least in my mind. 

I do know that this movie did bring back memories of mine, of a different nature.   I recalled a cocktail my Dad used to drink by the same name.  It was made with Brandy and Green Creme de menthe.  (another variation on this was called a Stinger, made with brandy and white creme de menthe).

This moved me to look up the recipe for the drink.  And in the process, I ran across a newer version.  One from Luka’s Taproom in Oakland.  They actually made it to “celebrate” (really? someone celebrated this movie other than Seth?) the release of the new Green Hornet movie.  Looking at this new recipe got my curiosity up…so, of course I made it.  I suggest you try it too.

The Green Hornet

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup mint
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro
  • jalapeno slice
  • limes
  • 1/2 cup tequila
  • Heat the sugar and water in a sauce pan until the sugar is dissolved.
  • Let it cool.
  • Put the mixture/simple syrup in a blender with the mint and cilantro and puree.
  • Strain the mixture.
  • Combine the juice of one lime, 1/2 of the syrup and 1/2 cup of tequila into a shaker and shake well.
  • Divide into two glasses filled with ice (optional: rub the rim of the glasses with lime wedge and a jalapeno slice and dip into sugar)
  • Top off the drinks with ginger beer)

For a slight variation on this, you can also use lemonade or ginger ale  in place of ginger beer.  The key is to strain the syrup well so you do not have little pieces of green stuff in your teeth all night.

Overall this Superhero cocktail is a nice treat.  Not quite “super”, but I enjoyed it anyway.

Again, I got to thinkin’ … and this time it didn’t get me into trouble…about superheroes, in general.  Perhaps it was the comic strip above that took me there.

Superheroes…there is a reason that most wear a mask.  Because underneath, they are just people.  Like us.  Even those Superheroes in sport…they are just people.  Really nothing special that separates them, (okay maybe a “super power”)as long as you don’t count Bruce Wayne’s money…and that was inherited!

Who are your superheroes?  

First responders?  Doctors?  Service men and women? Teachers? Coaches? Brothers and Sisters and Moms and Dads and Sons and Daughters and other relatives?  Neighbors? Co-workers?  Clergy?  Your pet?  Actually, probably all of them!  I guess it is a relative term.  We each have them in our lives.

Perhaps it is time we recognize them.  After all, they are not wearing masks…for the most part.  But to us, they have powers that can change our lives…maybe even make us laugh. 

Cheers.

Published in: on May 11, 2011 at 10:01 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jschaef.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/theyre-everywhere-theyre-everywhere-just-open-your-eyes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. John,

    I don’t visit facebook all that often, but I have recently started reading your blogs when I do make a FB visit. They are well done and, frankly, make me feel good. Many thanks, hoping all is well and God bless.

    Jeff

    Like

    • Jeff, thank you for the kind words. I am glad you enjoy reading the blog. I find it to be rather therapeutical actually. All is well here and I hope you can say the same. And yes, God has blessed me. And I hope He has you and yours.

      Like


Leave a Reply

