“How Much is That Doggie in the Window?”

PRICELESS!!!

Those who have previously read my writing, and those who know me well, know I have often written about the sheer awesomeness of dogs.   I think they are amazing creatures from God.

How much is that doggie in the window (arf, arf)
The one with the waggley tail
How much is that doggie in the window (arf, arf)
I do hope that doggie’s for sale

Many of us have been “dog shopping”.   Myself, guilty as charged.  I remember when my love for dogs first started…it was by accident.  I was about 6 years old, and had asked for a rabbit for Easter.  A rabbit.  Mom and Dad went looking, and what they found was that the rabbits were as big as some of the dogs they saw.  So…I ended up with a dog.  A dachshund…wiener dog…her name was Greta.  A beautiful, loyal dog.  As, I have found, most of them are…

And that is how it all started.  Instead of a rabbit, I got a dachshund…and loved it…every day until she went to “doggie heaven” when I was a junior in college.

And ever since there has always been at least one four-legged creature in the home.  Shim-Sham…Misty…Chelsea…Beau…Butkus…Kodi…Weezie…Addikus…and now Rufus.

Dachshund…Lhasa Apso…Bull Mastiff…Mastiff…Cocker Spaniel…Mastiff…Husky/Chow…Pommeranian…Valley Bulldog…American Bulldog.

All shapes.  All sizes.  One unconditional love.  Amazing, they are.

A month or so ago, we fell victim.  We rescued yet another dog.  Rufus.  An American Bulldog.  From the first time I met him, he felt amazing.  And he has not disappointed.  (While we were at the “shelter” on our first visit, there was a piece of me that wanted to just run around and open up each “cage” and yell…RUN, RUN, you are free!!)  Seeing his “shelter mates” tugged at my heart.

We have had pure bred dogs, unknowns and rescued dogs.  And I can honestly say, “WTF”.  I mean what is all the fuss about?  I have paid several hundred dollars and I have paid only $40 for my dogs.  And I am really not sure of the difference…I mean what did I receive for my money?  As far as I can tell, pretty much the same thing regardless of how much I paid.  And what I received was more than I could have asked for.  More than I expected.  Each dog provided something in our lives that may have been missing.  That could have been interpreted as “filling a void”.

Dogs seem to come into our lives, just as people do, in order that we may learn from them.

Such as Atticus.  Not our dog (Tyler’s dog) Addikus.  This is Atticus M Finch.  From the book “Following Atticus”, by Tom Ryan.  Atticus taught Tom a few lesson’s and changed his world.  (I am not going to say anything more about the book, except the dog does not die in the end, because you will enjoy reading it yourself).

And I am sure there are countless of others who have had a canine pal help them by either a change in their life, getting through a rough spot or learning a lesson.  And speaking of a lesson, here are a few I found.  A few lessons we “who walk upright” could learn from our puppy pals.

Lessons We Could Learn From Our Dogs (If We Paid Attention and Let Them Teach Us)

  • Enjoy the simple pleasure a walk can add to your life.
  • Follow your instincts.
  • Loyalty is usually rewarded and appreciated.
  • Accept life’s treats with gratitude and an open (mouth) heart.
  • Trust those who love you…and protect them.
  • Sometimes all you need to do is growl, biting isn’t necessary.
  • Keep digging until you find what you are looking for.
  • Sitting close and listening is sometimes the best way to be with someone you love.
  • Run, jump and play.
  • Take naps.
  • Drink plenty of water.
  • Clean your plate.
  • Giving and receiving love from someone are equally important.  (even if it is a belly rub or a licked face)
  • Be faithful, love unconditionally and forgive quickly.
  • Take note of, and enjoy, the little things in life…they can mean big things to us all.

Now I am not here to give advice.  That is a job for someone else.  But the next time you are looking to add some paw prints to your life, check out a “stray rescue site”.  Just see what they have to offer.  According to the Humane Society, only about 20 percent of dogs in homes come from shelters—the rest come from other sources.  And there is nothing wrong with many of these “other sources”…just as there is nothing wrong with rescued strays…or injured dogs…

As an owner of a few “rescued friends” I have found some irony in the fact that I have “rescued” them, but in another way, they are the ones “who end up rescuing me”.

Thanks.

I must take a trip to California
And leave my poor sweetheart alone
If he has a dog he won’t be lonesome
And the doggie will have a good home

How much is that doggie in the window (arf, arf)
The one with the waggley tail
How much is that doggie in the window (arf, arf)
I do hope that doggie’s for sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jschaef.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/how-much-is-that-doggie-in-the-window/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

