In light of Baseball’s Perfect Knight leaving this earth and headed to the real “Field of Dreams”, I am doing something I have not done before…re-posting a blog from a couple years ago. Stan, you will be missed but always remembered.

Pull Up A Chair

In light of Baseball’s Perfect Knight leaving this earth and headed to the real “Field of Dreams”, I am doing something I have not done before…re-posting a blog from a couple years ago.  Stan, you will be missed but always remembered.

1963

No, that is not the year I was born.  That would be double nickel. (’55)

1963 is the year my Dad introduced me to baseball.   St Louis Cardinals baseball to be exact.   My first glove…still have it.  My first baseball team I played on…played second base.  My first Cardinal game…Cardinals versus the Dodgers…Gibson against Richert.  And my first introduction to “the Man”, Stan Musial.

I can remember,clear as a bell, sitting down with my Dad as we”reviewed the Cardinals.”  We would pour over the Post Dispatch Sports section and he would review the players, games, batting order and “stuff”.  Boyer.  McCarver.  White.  Flood.  Groat.  Gibby.  And then along came Stan. …

View original post 1,041 more words

Published in: on January 20, 2013 at 1:08 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jschaef.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/1499/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

