What I Learned…January 2013

There is a radio personality. Martin Kilcoyne, in St louis who has a mid afternoon show on KTRS 550.  He finishes each broadcast with a “what have we learned today segment.  Most of it is “tongue in cheek” and kind of fun. 

And a few years ago I asked people close to me to tell me what they have kearned from life..so far, and I turned their words into a book that I shared with them.

So this year, for my blog, I thought I would post, after each month, what I learned during that month.  I am not sure where it will take me or what I will learn.  But that is the fun part of this.  You just don’t know!  But regardles of what happens…regardless of how old or young you are…regardless of where you are…you keep learning. 

That is one thing I have learned, and have tried to live.  Keep learning.  It is a key to living your life.  If you stop, you can become stagnant.  I do not want to become stagnant…so here is what I have learned in January 2013…

  • I learned that nice guys do NOT finish last.  This past month St Louis lost an icon.  A staple in St Louis for over 70 years.  Stan Musial passed away.  It may be hard to understand what this “Man” meant to St. Louis, but just trust me on this…it was a lot.  This guy was beyond belief…beyond comprehension…beyond reality.  Saying he was a “nice guy” would be too much of a cliche’.  Because he was more than that.  He meant more than that to us in St Louis, and those who appreciated what he did on the baseball diamond, quietly.  He was a nice guy…and he finished at the top.
  • I learned how much I enjoyed St Louis Blues hockey.  During the NHL lock out, I was pissed.  Infuriated would be an understatement.  I will not get into the Millionaires vs Billionaires debate.  I will not get into the discussion about the career length of an NHL player.  I won’t even address the fiscal impact upon parking attendents or beer vendors.  I was just pissed.  But when that first puck was dropped, and Oshie, Backes, Steen and the Tarasinko-show started, I was invigorated.  Let’s Go Blues!!!
  • I learned what President Lincoln went through in order to free the slaves.  Okay,  so it might not have been the best way to get a “history lesson”, but the Steven Speilberg movie was amazing.  Plus I have been reading a few books on Lincoln.   And all I can say is…”I had no idea!”  He stood for his beliefs like few people have ever done before. He fought.  He believed.  He prayed.  And in the end…he died.  Emmancipation Proclamation.  13th Ammendment.  Civil War.   He stood his ground and in the end, it cost him his life.  But while many lives were taken during Blue vs Grey, many more were changed forever because a single man believed in “doing the right thing”.
  • I learned that you can be further away from someone…in terms of distance…but become closer to someone.  This one is personal.   But has a big impact.  I learned thst it is not necessary to live in the same city in order to be close to someone.  It may seem silly.  You might think, duh, of course.  But I really learned it.  I feel much closer to someone since they moved away.  Can’t explain it.  And actually if I learned they were moving closer, I would be excited.  But proximity has nothing to do with emotional ties.  I love this person, and respect their need to be where they are.  And in the course of it all, I feel just a little closer…strange, I know.

So there you have it.  January is in “the books”.  Done and done.  Learned and learned.  2013 is off to a great start, and i can’t wait to keep learning throughout the year.

How about you?  Did you learn anything new?  Hope so…keep it up!

Published in: on February 7, 2013 at 10:37 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jschaef.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/what-i-learned-january-2013/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

