Thankful, So Many Ways, So Many Days.

Thanksgiving was last week.  But we should not stop giving Thanks.  Really, is one day enough?

I heard the question once, “what would happen if you woke up one day, and the only things you had, were the things you gave thanks for the previous day?”  Pretty powerful and a little frightening.  Frightening in the sense that we too often take things for granted.  Things and people.

I was going to write a post last week, but I thought it might have more of an effect writing it now.  So, now is a good time to write it and to give Thanks.

So, today, here is what I am thankful for…

  • My family.  I have an amazing family.  They are all so talented.  Loving.  Thoughtful.  I am blessed to say that we are all very similar, yet very different.  While politics and even religion may not be something we agree on, we do share the same values and moral compass.  And we share with each other.
  • Health and Prosperity.  When I wake up, I know it will be a good day.  Because, I woke up! You don’t appreciate either until you don’t have either.
  • The roof over my head, the floor under my feet, and protection from the weather’s elements.
  • Music.  Any kind of music.  Especially the “natural music” of birds chirping, wind blowing through trees and my grand daughter laughing.
  • The meals in front of me.
  • My ability to earn a living, whatever I do and whatever I have done.  I may not have always enjoyed it, but I am thankful.
  • Facebook.  Yep, you read that correctly. Because through FB, I am able to connect and reconnect with people I have known throughout my life.  Friends, class mates, team mates and even relatives have all “come back in my life” through FB.
  • Freedom.  Many people fought to give me this one, and shame on me for not being thankful.  So, I am.  Many of us take this one for granted, when we have the freedom of so many things to be thankful for.
  • Those that fought for the aforementioned freedoms.
  • Books.  Newspapers.  Magazines and my ability to read.  I get a lot of enjoyment out of reading, and writing.  So this must be on my “Thankful” list.
  • My parents.  Because they did an amazing job raising us and providing direction.  The rest was up to us.
  • My God and my faith.  They have both helped me get through rough spots on the road to where I am going.  Without this, there could have been an ugly mutli-car pile up.

And the list goes on…as it should.

While it is nice to set one day aside to “give thanks”, let’s not forget to be thankful the rest of the year.  If you are reading this, then you must have a few things to be thankful for…

Which reminds me of something else I am thank ful for…those who take the time to read my posts.

So give it some thought.  What would you be left with tomorrow if you only had that which you were thankful for today?  

Image

Published in: on December 7, 2013 at 9:51 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jschaef.wordpress.com/2013/12/07/thankful-so-many-ways-so-many-days/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yes, John Schaefering and we are thankful to you and to the Lord for you…and yours. The pix from long ago and Lumen today all have a story to tell. And the fact that you remember to thank the Lord for so many things. We are thankful to Him for our sight as I (Sally Kay) am being treated for macular degeneration, for our hearing as we listen to God’s Word and the voices of those we cherish, for the smells of the Fall and Winter, whether it is something in the oven, the fireplace or candles which lend ambiance to the evenings at home as well as the scent of the nape of my darling’s neck as we snuggle, for the gentle touch of a loved one and the ability to feel and sense all the feelings that we appreciate, as well as the challenges and the joy that accompany the commitment to the choices we have made. We are also thankful for those whose faith in Our Savior bring His Light to the world and teach us the beauty of humility and a grateful heart. And, most of all, we are thankful for Love; God’s Love, to be exact, for without it nothing else matters.

    Like

    • Wow you are so right and you reminded me of a few things missed. Sally, you are a real joy and I am thankful you stepped into my life. A real blessing

      Like


Leave a Reply

